Kentucky Derby: Nation Home wins after Most Safety disqualified

Most Safety (proper), ridden by Luis Saez, was disqualified for impeding different horses

Nation Home received the 2019 Kentucky Derby after Most Safety grew to become the primary victor within the race’s 145-year historical past to be disqualified on the day.

The favorite crossed the road first in entrance of 150,000 followers at Churchill Downs however was dominated to have impeded different horses within the $3m (£2.2m) race.

Most Safety was disqualified after a stewards’ inquiry lasting 20 minutes.

It left 65-1 outsider Nation Home, ridden by Flavian Prat for coach Invoice Mott, to be declared the winner.

The choice to strip Most Safety of the victory was later criticised by US president Donald Trump, who blamed it on “political correctness”.

“The Kentucky Derby choice was not a superb one,” Trump tweeted.

“It was a tough and tumble race on a moist and sloppy observe, truly, a wonderful factor to look at,” he added.

“Solely in as of late of political correctness may such an overturn happen. The most effective horse did NOT win the Kentucky Derby – not even shut.”

Nation Home is the second biggest-priced winner of the race, which is the primary leg of US Flat racing’s Triple Crown.

No horse had ever been disqualified instantly after successful the USA’ largest race – although Dancer’s Picture was stripped of the title in 1968 after a post-race check confirmed traces of a banned substance.

Most Safety veered out of line on the ultimate flip and impeded Battle of Will and Lengthy Vary Toddy.

It meant complaints have been lodged and stewards reviewed footage and interviewed riders earlier than saying the disqualification.

Because the controversial disqualification was introduced, Most Safety’s rider Luis Saez – who had earlier been celebrating with coach Jason Servis – put his head into his palms.

“It is a bittersweet victory however I’ve acquired to say our horse ran very effectively and our jockey rode very effectively,” stated 65-year-old coach Mott after his first Kentucky Derby triumph.

The following step of the Triple Crown is the Preakness Stakes on 18 Might, adopted by the Belmont Stakes on eight June. Solely 13 horses in historical past have received all three races with Justify doing so final yr.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.